Tag Archives: Asian Cricket Championship

Bangla tigers draw the first blood in the opener

Group Stage: Match 1 | Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka – 15th September, 2018

Venue:  Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Toss: Bangladesh, elected to bat first

Score: Bangladesh – 261 all out in 49.3 overs | Sri Lanka – 124 all out in 35.2 overs

Result: Bangladesh won by 137 runs


Despite of early losses, marvelous spell by the legendary Lasith Malinga (4/23 in 10 overs) and loosing the best opener Tamim Iqbal for the rest of the tournament due to an injury; Bangladesh still managed to hold on the nerves and clinching the 1st ODI, defeating Sri Lanka by 137 runs. They will also be grateful to Sri Lanka for the lackluster fielding and awful batting skills at display.

Man of the Match, Mushfiqur Rahim with 144 runs once again displayed a great sense of maturity in the beginning, perseverance in the middle stage, and aggression towards the end. Tamim Iqbal, despite of a injury that will cause him the tournament, showed a great deal of commitment to come again to bat after 9 wickets had fallen down, operating with only one hand, but ensuring that Rahim can carry on the assault and doesn’t remain stranded without any partner on the other hand. Due to this heroic, Bangladesh added 32 runs 16 balls before Rahim was out as the last wicket in the 50th over. This shows the attitude they have come with in this edition. Not to forget Mohammad Mithun’s valuable 63 runs in 68 balls, providing a match winning 3rd wicket partnership of 131 runs with Rahim.

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, has only one take away, the performance of Lasith Malinga. Other than that, they were far from good in all other areas. None of the batsmen could score a thirty. All 6 bowlers from Bangladesh contributed and got wickets.

The writing is on the wall. They are no longer dark horses – they are serious contenders. Watch out!


Tagged , , , , ,

Who will be the Asiatic Lion 2018? The bid begins…

14th edition of Asia Cup kicked off on 15th September, 2018 in UAE with standard 50 overs ODI format this year, in line with upcoming ICC ODI World Cup 2019.

6 Teams are split in 2 groups. Formation is as follows:

Group A

Group B

In the Group stage, each team will play against other 2 teams of the group. Top 2 teams from each group will qualify for Super Four stage.

In Super Four stage, each team will play against other 3 teams. Top 2 teams will lock the horns on 28th September, 2018 to claim the 2018 trophy.

All 13 matches will be D/N and played on one of the 2 venues:

  • Dubai International Cricket Stadium – Dubai
  • Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium – Abu Dhabi


  • Asia Cup returns to UAE after 23 years. Last time it was played in UAE was 1995.
  • It is ironical that the host UAE lost to Hong Kong in the qualifier and hence are not part of this edition.
  • Sri Lanka is the only team to have appeared in all 13 editions, followed by India, Pakistan and Bangladesh – all appearing in 12 editions each.
  • Each having won the title 5 times in the ODI format, India and Sri Lanka are the most successful teams. However, India also won the introductory T20 format in 2016, thus overall 6 times champion.
  • Sri Lanka has the best Win % of 69.38
  • Records (Only considering ODI format):
    • Most Runs: Sanath Jayasuriya – 1220 runs in 25 matches, with an average of 53.04, having a whooping strike rate of 102.52, highest being 130 runs, with 6 tons and 3 half centuries. He also holds the record for most runs in a tournament (378 in 2008 edition) and most hundreds (6).
    • Most Wickets: Muttiah Muralitharan – 30 wickets in 24 matches at a magnificent economy rate of 3.75, with best figures of 5/31
    • Best Bowling Figures: Ajantha Mendis – 6/13 vs. India in 2008. He also holds the record of most wickets in a tournament (17 wickets in 2008 edition)
    • Highest team total: Pakistan – 385/7 vs. Sri Lanka in 2010
    • Lowest team total: Bangladesh – 87 vs. Pakistan in 2000


Tagged , , , , ,
%d bloggers like this: